How to Factory Reset MacBook, MacBook Pro And Air

You might want to do a How to Factory Reset MacBook Pro or Air if you are selling it, if it is acting strangely, or if a bug is taking up too much space on the hard drive. If you are new to macOS or have never reset your MacBook Air or MacBook Pro from the factory, it can be hard to figure out what to do.

When you do a factory ret, your MacBook Pro and MacBook Air will lose all of their data and settings. During this process, you may lose some important data. You shouldn’t worry about it! This article is a detailed guide that will show you how to get your data back.

How to soft Reset MacBook

  1. Close all running programs after saving any open work.
  2. In the top-left corner of the screen, select the Apple menu ().
  3. To start a soft reset, choose “Restart” from the dropdown menu.
  4. By clicking “Restart” in the pop-up window, you can confirm the restart.
  5. Await the Mac’s restart and shutdown.
  6. The Mac will have finished a soft reset once the restart process is complete.

Steps to Soft Reset MacBook Pro

  1. Close all running programs after saving any open work.
  2. On the Mac Pro, hold down the power button while doing so. Usually found at the back of the Mac Pro’s tower, the power button.
  3. Holding the power button for 5 to 10 seconds is sufficient.
  4. Switch off the power.
  5. Press the power button once more to turn on the Mac Pro after a brief delay.
  6. The Mac Pro will have completed a soft reset once it has finished booting up.

How to Soft Reset MacBook Air

  1. Close all running programs after saving any open work.
  2. The MacBook Air’s “Power” button should be pressed and held. It typically sits in the keyboard’s upper-right corner.
How to Factory Reset MacBook
  1. Holding the “Power” button for an additional 10 seconds approximately.
  2. Put the “Power” button down.
  3. Press the “Power” button once more to turn on the MacBook Air after a brief delay.
  4. The MacBook Air will have completed a soft reset once it has finished booting up.

Steps to Hard Restart Mac or MacBook Pro

  1. Press and hold the “Command “+ “Control” + “Power” buttons on your keyboard.
  2. Continue holding the buttons until the Mac shuts down.
  3. Release the buttons and wait for a few seconds.
  4. Press the “Power” button to start up your Mac.

How to Factory Reset MacBook and MacBook Pro

  1. Put your MacBook and Pro into recovery mode by turning it on. To do this, turn on your Mac and then press and hold the Command () and R keys at the same time.
  2. If you are asked, choose a user whose password you know, and then enter that user’s administrator password.
  3. Choose Disk Utility from the tools window and click Continue.
  4. In the sidebar of Disk Utility, click on Macintosh HD and then click the Erase button in the toolbar.
  5. If you’re using macOS 10.13 High Sierra or later, choose APFS as the disk format. It is also better for SSDs that are newer. Choose Mac OS Extended (Journaled) if you have an old MacBook Pro.
  6. Click Erase Volume Group. If this button isn’t there, click Erase instead. After the erasing is done, select any other internal volumes in the sidebar, then click the delete volume button in the toolbar to delete that volume.
  7. When you’re done wiping your disks, close Disk Utility and go back to the utilities window.
  8. In the utilities window, choose “Reinstall macOS.” Then, click “Continue” and follow the instructions on the screen to reinstall macOS.
  9. Make sure you don’t shut the laptop’s lid while the operating system is being installed.

Steps to Factory Reset MacBook Air

  1. Hit the Apple icon in the top-left corner of your MacBook’s display.
  2. Choose Restart from the drop-down menu and be ready to press some keys on your keyboard.
  3. When the Apple logo reappears on your MacBook Air’s display, press and hold down Command R on your keyboard. Don’t let go until you see the macOS Utilities window appear on your display.
    • If you want to reinstall macOS over your current file system, click Reinstall macOS.
  4. To factory reset your device, however, click Disk Utility at the bottom of the list.
  5. Once Disk Utility has opened, Locate and select your MacBook Air’s Startup Disk on the left-hand side. For most users, this is the main and only disk listed.
  6. Click the Erase button inside Disk Utility.
  7. Select the Format pop-up window and choose Mac OS Extended.
  8. Give your reformatted disk a name and click Erase to confirm your erasure.

How to erase a MacBook

Back up your Mac

  1. Make a copy of all your information.
  2. Use your MacBook Pro’s menu to get to the settings or preferences menu.
  3. Find the option to reset your Mac to the way it was when it came out of the box.
  4. Follow the on-screen instructions and make sure you still want to reset.
  5. Wait until the process of resetting is done.
  6. After the reset is done, your MacBook Pro will be back to how it was when it came out of the factory.

 Remove the computer from associated devices

  1. Open Apple Music app on your Mac.
  2. Go to the Apple menu bar where the Apple logo is at the top left corner and Choose Account > Authorizations > Deauthorize This Computer.
  3. Enter your Apple ID email and password on the pop-up. Forgot the Apple ID password?
  4. Click Deauthorize to confirm.

Sign out of Apple ID

  1. Go to the Apple ID website and log in with your email address and password to manage your Apple account.
  2. Scroll down to the Device section and find the Mac computer you will reset to factory defaults.
  3. Select it and click “Remove from account”.

Reset NVRAM

  1. You can turn off your Mac by clicking the Apple logo.
  2. Press the power button to turn on your Mac.
  3. Press and hold down the Option, Command, P, and R keys at the same time.
  4. After about 20 seconds, let go of the keys.

Erase Touch Bar data

An OLED strip called Touch Bar is equipped on some MacBook Pro models in 2016 and later (Apple removed it from MacBook Pro 2021 with M1 Pro and M1 Max chip). It restores additional data for the Touch Bar and Touch ID sensor. The data is not erased by default if you reset a MacBook Pro by formatting the hard drive and reinstalling OS.

FAQs

Does a factory reset delete everything Mac?

Before you do anything you should back up or clone your Mac. This is because – as you would expect – resetting a Mac to factory settings gets rid of all the data stored on that machine.

How to factory reset Mac without erase all content and settings?

Restart your Mac. Choose Apple menu > Shut Down, press and hold the power button until “Loading startup options” appears, select Options, click Continue, then follow the onscreen instructions. In the Recovery app window, select Reinstall for your macOS release, click Continue, then follow the onscreen instructions.

Editorial Staff
Editorial Staffhttps://www.bollyinside.com
The Bollyinside editorial staff is made up of tech experts with more than 10 years of experience Led by Sumit Chauhan. We started in 2014 and now Bollyinside is a leading tech resource, offering everything from product reviews and tech guides to marketing tips. Think of us as your go-to tech encyclopedia!

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related Articles

Best Telemedicine Software: for your healthcare practice

Telemedicine software has transformed my healthcare visits. It's fantastic for patients and doctors since they can obtain aid quickly. I...
Read more
I love microlearning Platforms in today's fast-paced world. Short, focused teachings that engage me are key. Microlearning platforms are great...
Think of a notebook on your computer or tablet that can be changed to fit whatever you want to write...
As of late, Homeschool Apps has gained a lot of popularity, which means that an increasing number of...
From what I've seen, HelpDesk software is essential for modern businesses to run easily. It's especially useful for improving customer...
For all of our important pictures, stories, and drawings, Google Drive is like a big toy box. But sometimes the...