Wednesday, October 20, 2021

20 Olympians unable to compete after failing to comply with anti-doping guidelines

Must Read

In 2021, the Federation identified seven countries as “Category A” nations, including Belarus, Bahrain, Ethiopia, Kenya, Morocco, Nigeria and Ukraine. The anti-doping tests this year found at least one athlete from each “high risk” country who did not meet the minimum anti-doping testing requirement, except for Bahrain. Eighteen athletes from the final entries of the Olympics failed minimum requirements, while two additional competitors from Kenya were replaced by the National Federation before they were submitted to officials, the Athletics Integrity Unit said.

20 Olympic athletes ineligible to compete after failing to meet anti-doping guidelines “National Federations must play their part in supporting anti-doping efforts,” David Howman, chairperson of the AIU, said in a statement. “The eligibility rules for athletes from ‘Category A’ countries are very clear and compliance is essential for cementing the required long-term changes and ensuring a level playing field for clean athletes.”

The framework of the rule that prohibits the 20 athletes from competing was put into place in January 2019. Under the protocol, National Federations are responsible for ensuring the appropriate anti-doping measures are in place within their respective jurisdictions.

This Sports News Highlights

  • Headline: 20 Olympians unable to compete after failing to comply with anti-doping guidelines
  • Check all news and articles from the Sports news updates.
Disclaimer: If you need to update/edit this article then please visit our help center. For Latest Updates Follow us on Google News

More Articles Like This

Latest News